To get in touch, please write to contact@greensonscreen.co.uk


I've been meaning to develop this page for the last couple of years, but have failed miserably. One day it'll contain a comprehensive record of the Devonport End, Lyndhurst and Barn Park End redevelopments (when I've time to sort through over 1,500 photos) and also chronicle the demolition and rebuilding of the south side of the stadium - and who knows, even more. But for now, it seems a good place to build up a photo record of probably the most extensive work ever undertaken on the Home Park pitch:

Home Park Pitch Replacement - Summer 2010

With thanks to Tony Campbell and colleagues for their permission and help

Key Facts:

  • Consultancy and Project Management: STRI

  • Main Contractors: Inscapes

  • Pitch Technology: Fiberlastic Rootzone. A 100% grass pitch but with elastic fibres below to improve the 'feel' and reduce impact-related injuries. The pitch will be seeded, not turfed. More information about Fibrelastic.

  • The work is expected to take 12 weeks to complete. Given fair weather and no unexpected delays, a pre-season friendly on August 1st is possible, but this will be kept under close review.

  • The pitch will be excavated up to a metre in depth to allow new drainage systems to be constructed. A sprinkler system will also be installed, but experts have advised that under-soil heating is not necessary for a pitch of this technology in this part of the country.

  • Levelling will result in the Grandstand side being lower, which will match the sightline calculations for the new south side.

  • A third generation (3G) synthetic surface will be laid from the touchlines to the front of each stand.

  • Anchor points for rugby post holders will be constructed below the playing surface.

  • The ashes of over 100 Greens have been scattered or interred at the Devonport End. The soil from this area will be set aside and preserved, and if space can be found in future plans, will be used to form a Memorial Garden.     

In Pictures:

The Barn Park Slideshow: 

Mon 10 May

The first diggers arrive.

   

Wed 12 May

Turf & topsoil disappearing.

   

Thu 13 May

Just a corner left.

   

Tue 18 May

Excavating down.

   

Fri 21 May

The first signs of drainage.

   

Tue 25 May

Laying the drains.

   

Fri 28 May

Spreading the gravel.

Wed 2 Jun

Adding a layer of sand.

 

 

Fri 4 Jun

The sand is spreading.

 

 

Wed 9 Jun

Ready for the rootzone.

 

 

Fri 11 Jun

Ready for the Fibrelastic.

 

Tue 15 Jun

Laying the Fibrelastic.

 

 

Thu 17 Jun

Almost ready to seed.

 

 

Fri 18 Jun

Raking and seeding.

 

 

Tue 22 Jun

Waiting for the first signs.

 

 

Fri 25 Jun

New life.

 

Fri 2 Jul

Coming along nicely.

 

 

Fri 9 Jul

Looking good!

 

Fri 16 Jul

Filling out nicely.

 

Thu 22 Jul

Looking gloriously green.

 

 

Thu 29 Jul

Fungicide and fertiliser.

 

Wed 4 Aug

Goalposts!

 

 

Sun 8 Aug

Marking out the pitch.

 

Greens on Screen is run as a service to fellow supporters, in all good faith, without commercial or private gain.  I have no wish to abuse copyright regulations and apologise unreservedly if this occurs. If you own any of the material used on this site, and object to its inclusion, please get in touch using the 'Contact Us' button at the top of each page. Search facility powered by JRank Search Engine. DHTML JavaScript Menu Courtesy of Milonic.